Past Board Members

BOCES is an acronym for Board of Cooperative Educational Services. Created by an act of the New York State Legislature in 1948, the BOCES offer services and programs that individual school districts can't operate cost-effectively on their own. Schools for multiply handicapped children, career education, transportation, computer services, staff development programs for teachers and other school personnel are just a few of the more than 100 services Southern Westchester BOCES provides its component districts.

The first Southern Westchester BOCES board members were elected in 1948. These individuals, and those who served with them and after them, helped shape the education of school children and adult learners for more than one-half century

Members of the Southern Westchester Board of Cooperative Educational Services 1948 - Present

Vincent J. Cunningham May V. Bromber David S. Schwartz
1948-1961 1966-1971 1984-1985
Clayton Emerson Edwin L. Howard Beverly A. Levine
1948-1949 1970-1978 1984-present
Edward C. Holmes John Ritchie George B. Lusk
1948-1965 1970-1978 1985-1996
Angelo Russo Hector G. Dowd Louise De Vel Muller
1948-1973 1971-1979 1985-2004
Harry W. Ryer Ronald S. Lockhart Joan H. Fine
1949-1951 1972-1977 1986-1996
Carl E. Rudiger Owen Daley Alan H. Salzman
1951-1952 1972-1978 1987-1997
Carmen Brennan Anne L. Bondy Evelyn M. Stock
1952-1962 1973-1993 1992-2006
Russell E. Cooley, Jr. Thomas Watkins, Jr. Bruce H. Hoffman
1952-1959 1974-1984 1993-1997
James H. Paynter Betty Menke John DeSantis
1959-1965 1977-1979 1996-present
Harry F. Weber, Jr. Robert Bernstein Arlene Kamer
1961-1965 1978-1983 1996-2007
Anthony Waldeier Judith R. Weiner Calvin Johnson, Jr.
1962-1970 1978-1987 1997-1998
John McAllister Carol S. Tillman Bruce E. Williams, Ph.D.
1964-1974 1979-1985 1997-2005
Charles H. Grosjean Rowland L. Mitchell, Jr. Joseph E. Wooley
1965-1966 1979-1992 1998-present
John Snyder Julie Wolf Nancy Fisher 
1965-1966 1980-1986  2004-2012
  David S. Schwartz James E. Miller
  1984-1985 2005-2016
    Richard Glickstein
    Georgia Riedel